The Public Relations Consultants Association of Nigeria (PRCAN), is a trade sectoral group for the public relations industry in Nigeria. Founded in 1984, PRCAN aggregates and articulates the interest of member firms and works to uphold best practice in public relations in Nigeria in the areas of standards, conduct as well as economic well-being for the public relations industry generally and public relations consulting in particular for the benefit of all stakeholders.

  • The Public Relations consultancy business in Nigeria has experienced three major phases:
  • The era of the pathfinders.
  • The birth of Preecan
  • The repositioning of PR CAN.

The era of pathfinders Public Relations practice in Nigeria dates back to the first half of the 20th century (colonial war office, UAC, Railways). However, the first set of public relations consultants emerged in the late fifties and existed until the seventies. At that time, focus was on press agentry. In addition, most of the firms were named after the founders probably because their names commanded goodwill and could get them accounts.

These were the founding consultancies:

  1. OAB Press (Ebun Adesioye as Founder)
  2. Publicity Services Nigeria Limited (Dotun Okubanjo)
  3. Gab Fagbure & Associates (Gab Fagbure)
  4. Gab Idigo & Associates (Gab Idigo).
  5. Uloma Nwachukwu & Associates (Uloma Nwachukwu).
  6. Bob Ogbuagu & Associates (Bob Ogbuagu).
  7. Praction Partners Limited (Olu Ademulegun).

On February 8, 1982, four PR firms formed the Public Relations Consultants Association of Nigeria to advance the practice of PR practice consultancy. Chief Toye Ogunnorin of Progan Promotions the originator of the idea became the founding president. That laid the foundation for organized PR consultancy in Nigeria.

Preecan was founded by the following agencies:

  • Bloomfield Public Relations Practitioners
  • Good Contact Public Relations Service
  • Philips Johnson and Associates
  • Progan Promotions

The repositioning of PRCAN

In 2002, PRCAN embarked on a programme to reposition the association as a professional body and increase awareness of its activities

Several major PR consultancies commenced operations in the 1990s and joined PRCAN. A new executives led by Mr Nn’emeka Maduegbuna, Chairman/CEO of the then Corporate and Financial Communications (now C&F Porter Novelli), was elected on the theme PR CAN, other key officers were: Ben Ayede, General Manager at The Quadrant Company as Vice President, Adetokunbo Modupe, MD/CEO at TPT International as Honoraouble Secretary General, Prince Osita Ike, CEO of Oyster St. Iyke as Publicity Secretary and Mr Chido Nwakanma, Executive Director of Taijo wonukabe Limited as Treasurer.

The repositioning features three major components: Enthronement of professionalism in PR consultancy in Nigeria, setting up of administrative structures for running the association and ensuring the financial viability of the association.

2010 -2012

A new Executive Committee was elected on Friday, June 18, 2010 at De Renaissance Hotel, Alausa, Ikeja Lagos during the 2010 Annual General Meeting

The following members were elected for two –year tenure: Dr phil Osagie, President ( representing JSP Communications), Mr. Chido Nwakanma, Vice President ( Representing BlueFlower Limited, Mr. John Ehiguese, Hon  Secretary General ( representing Mediacraft Associates), My Muyiwa Akintunde Assistant Secretary General (representing MarketingMix & Company, Mr. Nn’emeka Maduegbuna Past President, (representing C & F Porter Novelli, as Ex-officio by virtue of Article 38 of PRCAN Memorandum and Article of Association).

Through a bye-election latter in the year Ms Alima Atta (representing Sesema PR) became Hon. Treasurer, while Adeyemi Odusote (representing Soulcomm Publicis) was elected Publicity Secretary. The 2010 – 12 era concentrated on Capacity Development through the PRCAN Masterclass workshops, CSR initiatives and membership drive.

2012 – 2014

Chido Nwakanma was elected President at the 2012 AGM held on Friday, October 19, 2012 at 1960 Hotel, while Ehiguese became Vice President, Akintunde representing Leap Communications) became Secretary General, Mr. Isreal Opayemi, Publicity Secretary (Chain Reactions Nigeria) and Mr. Adetola Odusote, Assistant General Secretary (CMC Connect), while Osagie and Maduegbuna became ex-Officio members.

A bye-election was conducted to elect Adedayo Ojo (Caritas Communications) as Hon. Treasurer, He later stepped down and   Ms. Mojisola Saka (Soulcomm-Publicis) took his place.

The administration focused on four major areas –Advocacy, Professionalism, Structure, and Capacity Development.

Milestones included building a bigger PRCAN brand, ‘Engage a PRCAN Agency’ campaign, launch of PRCAN website and social media platforms. Thought Leadership through the launch of Annual PRCAN Gold Medal Lecture, delivered by the then Governor of Ekiti State, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, and Survey of PRCAN Agencies.

2014 -2017

On November 14 2014, Ehiguese was elected President, Akintunde (Vice President), Odusote (Secretary General), Opayemi (re-elected Publicity Secretary), Saka (re-elected Hon. Treasurer) and Mr. Mike Nzeagwu of Metro Media Communications (Assistant General Secretary). Nwakanma joined past presidents, Osagie and Maduegbuna as Ex-offiocio member.

In its first year in office, the administration has reinforced the relationship between PRCAN and its parent body, NIPR, particularly in the areas of enforcement of the governing laws and capacity development. The second edition of the PRCAN Gold Medal Lecture attracted a guest outside Nigeria (Wendy Tlou, Chief Marketing Officer, Brand South Africa), outreach to related professional bodies (APCON, AAAN, EXMAN, OAAN, etc.), re-admission into International Communications Consultancy Organization (ICCO) with PRCAN President appointed onto its Board of Management, launch of PRCAN monthly Breakfast Meeting, Capacity Development etc. It was in this era that PRCAN had its own Secretariat but had to move back to the President’s agency after a while due to some constraints.

2017 -2019

At the association’s 4th Annual General Meeting held on March 31, 2017, the executives were re-elected for another two-year tenure except Mr. Mike Nzeagwu who stepped down and Ms. Tampiri-Akemu of Sesame PR replaced him as Assistant Secretary General to complete the goals set in their previous tenure. The 3rd PRCAN Gold Medal Lecture was held in this tenure with Prof. Emevwo Biakolo, Pioneer Dean, School of Media & Communications, Pan-atlantics University Lagos as the lead speaker

Current Era (2019 -2021)

The current executives took office at the 5th AGM of PRCAN held on Friday, September 6, 2019 in Lagos. The following members were elected for a two-year tenure: Mr. Israel Opayemi, (President), Mr. Adedayo Ojo, (Vice President}, Mrs. Tokunboh George-Taylor, (Hon. Secretary General), Ms. Martha Okpeke, (Assistant Secretary General), Mr. Bolaji Abimbola, (Publicity Secretary),

Mr. Raheem Olabode (Hon. Treasurer) with the immediate past President, Mr. Ehiguese as the 4th Ex-officio member.